Home   >   Movie Stars   >   M   >   Janet Munro

Janet Munro

Janet Munro was a British actress. Daughter of Scottish born comedian Alex Munro, Janet was born in Blackpool, Lancashire, England. She is remembered for her starring roles in three Disney classic films, Darby O'Gill and the Little People, Third Man On the Mountain and Swiss Family Robinson. Her other notable film credits include science fiction films such as The Crawling Eye (released as The Trollenberg Terror in the UK) and The Day the Earth Caught Fire.

In 1959 she won a Golden Globe for most promising newcomer - female and was nominated Best British Actress in 1962(BAFTA) for her performance in Life For Ruth (released as Walk in the Shadow and Condemned To Life in the United States).

Janet died in London on December 6, 1972 as a result of myocarditis.

Note: This profile was written in or before 2007.

Janet Munro Facts

Birth Name Janet Neilson Horsburgh
BirthdaySeptember 28, 1934
BirthplaceBlackpool, England, United Kingdom
Date of deathDecember 6, 1972 (age 38)

Selected Filmography

Swiss Family Robinson
Darby O' Gill And The Little People
Darby O'Gill And The Little People
The Day the Earth Caught Fire
The Stepford Wives
Third Man On The Mountain
The Crawling Eye
Continue » Find more details on the Janet Munro Movies page