Home   >   Movie Stars   >   Y   >   Gabriel Yared
Gabriel Yared
  • Biography

Gabriel Yared

Gabriel Yared, who won an Academy Award for his musical score for The English Patient, first attracted international attention with his score for Jean-Jacques Beineix's film Betty Blue. More recently, Yared composed the music for two films by Jean-Jacques Annaud, Wings of Courage and The Lover, as well as Christina Jeffs' Sylvia. Among his other credits are Bruno Nuytten's Camille Claudel, Robert Altman's Beyond Therapy and Vincent and Theo, Richard Dembo's Dangerous Moves, Costa-Gavras' Hannah K, Beineix's The Moon in the Gutter and IP5, and Jean-Luc Godard's Every Man for Himself. Yared's recent films also include The Next Best Thing, Autumn in New York, The One and Only, L'Idole, Chocolat and Possession.

Gabriel Yared was born in Lebanon. A self-taught musician he abandoned law studies in 1971, moved to Paris and audited musical composition courses given by Henri Dutilleux at the Ecole Normale de Musique. In 1973, he began a career as composer/orchestrator for many prominent singers, Johnny Hallyday, Charles Azanvour, Mireille Mathieu and Sylvie Vartan among them. In addition to writing film scores, Yared has composed music for the ballet (for Carolyn Carlson and Roland Petit) as well as music for numerous advertising jingles and radio/tv themes. Presently, he is at work creating a research and broadcast center (called Pleiade) for folk music.

Note: This profile was written in or before 2004.

Gabriel Yared Facts

BirthdayOctober 7, 1949 (74)
BirthplaceBeirut, Lebanon

Selected Filmography

Not available.