Home   >   Movie Stars   >   I   >   Alberto Iglesias
Alberto Iglesias
  • Biography

Alberto Iglesias

He was born in San Sebastian in 1955 and studied piano, guitar, counterpoint and harmony with Blanca Burgaleta and Francisco Escudero in his home city. He furthered his studies in Paris with Francis Schwartz and in Barcelona with Gabriel BrnCic. He has collaborated with Carlos Saura, Bigas Luna, Julio Medem and Iciar Bollain, among others.

He has collaborated closely with Pedro since they first worked together on The Flower of my Secret, and has been the regular composer for his films.

His most notable soundtracks include The Lovers from the North Pole (Julio Medem), All About my Mother and Talk to Her (Pedro Almodóvar). He has received six Goyas for his work in the above mentioned films as well as for his scores for Julio Medem's films, The Red Squirrel, Tierra and Sex and Lucía. He has recently worked on The Constant Gardener (Fernando Mireilles), for which he has been nominated to the best original score at the BAFTAs and the Academy Awards.

In addition to his film work, he has composed symphonic and chamber music, and several ballets for the National Dance Company.

Note: This profile was written in or before 2007.

Alberto Iglesias Facts

BirthplaceSan Sebastián, País Vasco, Spain

Selected Filmography

Not available.